FileMaker API Connector: A free and open-source starter solution for integrating FileMaker with any API or database

Hey folks, some of you may have seen the FileMaker API post I made on Reddit last year. A lot is changing with Reddit, so I'm moving some content to other platforms to prepare for shutting down my account. And I wanted to share this post here before the original is gone.

Hey, I'm Joseph, I'm an engineer at Appsmith, and a long-time FileMaker Pro developer and consultant. I freelanced in FileMaker Pro for years, integrating APIs like Shopify, BigCommerce, eBay and other services, using FileMaker's insert from URL script step, curl requests, and roughly a terabyte of \"escaped quotes\". :confounded:

FileMaker is a powerful low-code platform that can build some pretty amazing apps, but the developer experience isn’t always as… let’s just say — modern. And while curl requests still have their uses, these days, I’d much rather use a Postman-like interface for making API calls. So I built one! And I wanted to share it with the FileMaker community.

This app, built on Appsmith, provides a starting point for connecting your FileMaker data to almost any API or Database using one of Appsmith’s many integrations, and a Postman-like API builder.

r/filemaker - FileMaker API Connector: A free and open-source starter solution for integrating FileMaker with any API or database

Screen Shot 2022-08-16 at 2.24.58 PM.png

Appsmith is open-source and can be self-hosted, or hosted for free on our cloud platform

Getting started

The app handles the FileMaker login flow and query building, using a UI to select fields and enter search terms without coding—just like a Find Request in FileMaker. It generates the actual JSON query object for you and runs the API request, returning any matching records.