Uploading container data via Data API not working for me

Hi, I’m new to fmsoup (as of a couple days ago), so if this in the wrong place I apologize.

I am also new to Integrations and the Data API. I’m trying to use Javascript to be able to select an image and send it to my database using an HTTP Request. However, the image itself doesn’t load, only an icon and the image name does.

This image shows my HTML and javascript to select the file:
Picture%20picker

And this is how I am sending it with the Data API:

I tried this using Postman, and got the results I wanted, but this way does not work.

What am I doing wrong? (And I’m sure there is a much better way to format and send the request, so I’m open to that too.) Thanks!

2 Likes

Hello and welcome Patty!
I can’t be of help on your current issue but I am certain some will chime in soon to help.

Hi @PattyB,
what is the FMPA version? How do you store container data? Does the image show when you drop it manually?

The POST in your code does not have the field repetition number (i.e. /TestPicture/1). Not sure if this is mandatory but you may give it a try.

Hello @PattyB

I have not ever worked on anything involving an HTTP request to insert binary data via the Data API.

That said:

Short answer:

I'd suggest checking out:

It looks like, among other things, it will handle all the details of what you are trying to do.

End Short Answer / Begin further rambling regarding the code snippet you posted:

A quick glance suggests to me that it is going to more effort than need be.

Rather than constructing the precise format of the HTTP request, I believe it should be possible to rely upon either XMLHttpRequest, or the newer Fetch API to take care of such details.

Some examples to illustrate, courtesy of a couple of google searches:

XMLHttpRequest:

Fetch:

https://shiya.io/using-fetch-to-upload-a-file/

https://javascript.info/fetch