What you wish somebody would have told you as a beginner?

What are some things you wish you knew when starting out with Filemaker?

Is there something you wish somebody would have told you?

Any tips, tricks or just something you found out that you wish you would have known?

(General Discussion)

following from youtube trend, things I wish I knew when I started coding

"I wasn't kidding when I told you to keep things simple."

4 Likes

don't use the TOG for navigation - keep it lean - use it only if no other means get you the data.

also watch the field count - slim tables..

5 Likes

"Don't start until you've drawn it as a picture and can explain it in simple words"

Modelling is such an important part of understanding the problem. Without a clearly defined goal, you working without purpose. Create a plan in advance, it is crucial to good outcomes.

I haven’t seen anyone else say this yet. Document everything. Sit down and describe what you are about to do. That helps you focus. Write a few words on what you have done as you go. Keep track of times too. That helps with billing and in the future with estimates.

A very simple and thorough description of work is a DDR. Make one before you start and one when you finish. The difference is the work you did.

3 Likes

When a user tells you a business rule like "We will only ever do it this way, there will never be an occasion where we need it to work that way", don't believe them. Always build it with the assumption that they are lying and trying to trick you.

You can tell I'm having a fun time with some clients lately.

3 Likes

but how would you know what the "other way" is and if it would be good for the Client?

regards
Kevin

You have to document the business rule, the explicit exclusion, and the apparent limitation. :smile:

Experience usually.