Bubble chart overlay for maps

Is it possible to create a bubble chart overlay for a map with FMP?

I'm new to FMP20, SVG and web viewer - do you know an example whether and how that can be done?

bubble_map

I had used .fp3 graphics for that purpose before, where I had a background map created dot by dot from border coordinates and data sets which placed ASCII Circles into large text fields. That had worked up to FMP7, while from then on a monospaced character would have a different width for blanks and other characters, even in font size 1, making dot character graphics unusable from then on.

That's a graphic from FMP7:
Codier-Anbieter

This simple approach did not permit fill-by-color-operations and was absolutely static, with very limited scaling options.

The webviewer is going to be the best way to enable that. You'll have your choice of charting libraries. I should be clear, javascript/web based charting libraries. Your business needs may restrict your choices, but your starting point is searching for charting libraries on the web.

You can also make them interactive, passing commands back from the web viewer to filemaker scripts and vice versa.

If you treat this as a web project initially, get it working in a web page. Once you are happy with that, you can ask specific questions to get it functioning in FMP using the web viewer. A lot of libraries work without change, some need a little tweak.

1 Like

I don't understand that comcept yet. Of course I can include any external web page for that purpose - but then I don't want, I don't need FMP.

But how can I do a SVG overlay for that web view?

What do you mean by but then I don't want, I don't need FMP ?