Counting related records for a large data set

Scenario: Database with over 5,000 companies, each with multiple products.
I want to be able to Sort the database by the number of products.

Need help with:
How can I add a Field with the number of Records for each company?
Assuming that a Scrip will need to 'crawl' through the database (over 100,000 products), using the Value of the Found Set for each company and enter the result of the "Get(FoundCount)" Function into the new Field.

Apologies to all veteran developers for posting here - after all those years f tinkering, I'm still learning...

I would avoid looping in FileMaker at all costs as it's often quite slow -- especially for this many rows.

Instead, why don't you use SQL's "COUNT()" function? As long as you can join your two tables on a key, you can get the count you want (possibly needing a nested query) and, again, using SQL, you can "ORDER BY" to get the results in the order you want.

Maybe something as simple as this (pseudo code). Just an idea to get you started.

SELECT COMPANY, COUNT(PRODUCTS) AS PROD_COUNT FROM COMPANIES C, PRODUCTS P WHERE C.COMPANY_PK = P.PRODUCTS_FK ORDER BY PROD_COUNT

SQL is relatively easy to learn and it's supported by ALL relational database vendors....so learning it is a great investment.

And, perhaps best yet, is that SQL is "declarative"....meaning you don't write code. Instead, you just pass the SQL to the engine (FileMaker in this case) and let FileMaker figure out how to run it.

Now, I've read that SQL in FileMaker is just a wrapper around regular FMP functions so SQL like this might be slow in FileMaker as well, but I'd try it before considering writing a loop statement. :slight_smile:

In MySQL, for comparison, I believe a query like this with 100K-200K rows would take a second or two.

If you post more information about your database set up (with a few rows of non private data for each table), I'll try to help you with your query.

Happy Computing :slight_smile: