How can I transfer the text to a specific field?

Hello everyone,

This is my first time seeking assistance for this issue, and I'm hopeful for a solution.

I've been using the Windows OCR file from the mbsplugins website to help me capture images and convert them into text. My question is, how can I transfer this text into specific fields, as shown in my screenshot?

Windows OCR.fmp12 (9.4 MB)

You could use RegEx functions to look for specific texts.

Link the card number should be easily queryable with RegEx.Extract and a matching pattern.

You could also look for text btween "Name:" and "Nationality:" as well as for the words after it.

2 Likes

Hello Saeed,

What I would do is to studie the text looking for patterns that can tag your data. The problem with OCR is that the result depends on the quality of the picture being used, but when I look at the text I can identify:

Card ID Number (or just Number)
ame: (Guess this is an OCR error).
Nationality

I would the use Substitute (...)

Substitute ( Text ; [ "number" ; "¶XXX1:" ] ; [ "ame:" ; "¶XXX2:" ] ; [ "Nationality" ; "¶XXX3:" ] ) & ¶

XXX can be anything that is unlikely to be in your text, and note the ¶ which gives you a tagged list:

United...
XX1:784-..
XX2:Hammad ...
XX3:United ... 000

Look for patterns so that you get a start and a end for each data, and note that I don't substitute 000 at the end since that can also be part of the Card ID Number.

Now parse your list to get the data, XXX..: ¶
You could skip "XXX.." and use GetValue (..) if you can trust the OCR, but it is more safe to do it this way. (The OCR might insert it's own ¶).

After that trim all data so that there are no white space before or after, and fix the "000" at the end of Nationality now that you have separated them.

To make it simple for you to parse data make a Custom function with for example this one: