Migration from FM10

Hello,

I am tasked with upgrading/migrating a FM 10 Pro installation on a Windows SBS 2008 Server…I know it is not supported any longer. I am a network tech and the client needs to upgrade to Windows 10. May or may not need a server as the firm has downsized from 10 to 3 users.

I will admit I have not searched for this as I am looking for an easy button…Can anyone tell me if the FM10 on the server can be imported to a Windows 10 workstation running the latest version of FM and still be able to host the database for the other two users? Basically do I need to recommend a new server or can it be run on a beefy windows 10 workstation? If that isn’t possible, can it be run completely on a Windows 10 workstation with a single user? Will the FM10 Pro files migrate or is there a process for this?

Thanks!

2 Likes

A quick and straightforward way would be using FMP 10 hosted on a VM as a server.
Provided the solution is still satisfactory as is. Also if the solution is only accessible from within the LAN, that’s fine.

1 Like

not sure, if I got all correct

• filemaker 10 means .fp7 file-format
  • current version of filemaker is 18, .fmp12 file-format

When opening a .fp7 file with the current version of filemaker, the file will be converted automatically to the current version and can be used, more or less as under v10 (might be some issues with specific fonts, maybe some printer re-definitions,)

Then, filemaker 10 can probably be installed under Win 10 (we got filemaker 11 -what is also .fp7- under Win 10, although installed before the last few patches of Win 10…)
So You might be able to run filemaker 10 pro, even if no longer supported - or get a new version and use the converted files.

Filemaker 18 (client) still can be set as a host for less than 5 users (this ‘peer2peer’ method is deprecated…)

Filemaker client is not a service - therefore a user has to be logged in and the db-files must be openend on that client/user (set sharing to ‘on’…)