Options for connecting website to FileMaker server

I have a customer that wants to update a GIS website real time with the changes made on FileMaker server. Syncing data will include images and while normal sync will be small at times it could be GB of data.

In the past I have done an auto export and import and scheduling it as often as they want the update to happen. This option has the advantage of making the whole process easy to explain and understand. It also has the advantage of allowing both sides to make changes to there systems without necessarily requiring a change on the other end.

But I know FileMaker has other options with the Data API, SQL, mirror sync, etc. But I have never used any of them before and to be honest a little scared about them. It dose not help that I know almost nothing about webdesign.

I would love any insight or advice on what others do or recommend.

What you are talking about isn't really connecting a web site, but integration between two systems. The fact that the GIS system has a web site component to it is sorta irrelevant. That's the same as FMS having WebDirect so to speak.

As with any integration you have a couple of options, and it depends on where you want to write the code and maintain it, and what technology you need to use or want to use:
1- push and pull from inside FM. That's largely going to be done using the "insert from URL" script step with its cURL options. You'd be using the API as documented by the GIS.
2- push and pull from the GIS system. Using the GIS tools and talking to FMS on the FMS Data API or xDBC
3- write something that sits it the middle that can push and pull from both FMS and GIS

#2 is probably not relevant because I doubt that you have control over the GIS or that it has its own 'script maker' kinda of functionality, a place where you can write code.