Picker in Card Window

I have a join table (SUBSCRIPTIONS) between CUSTOMERS and SERIES and a card window with a portal as a picker for the Series. Currently, I’m using Series::g_title with an “on modify” script trigger after each character is entered to perform a find. After the user selects a series, I run a script to create a record in the join table.

This works, but I have 10K records in the Series table. Therefore, I’d like to experiment with a portal filter rather than a find to see how that affects performance. However, the card window is based on the SERIES table occurrence and therefore I can’t filter the portal.

Suggestions for next steps to create a SERIES picker that allows a portal filter?

One thing I like in situations like this is to filter on idle, rather than after every keystroke. The user can type quickly and it will filter when they stop.

That can be as simple as a Refresh Portal OnTimer after not typing for .3s. Portal filter something like: PatternCount ( Table::data ; Global::search )

Example: Find On Idle.fmp12 (536 KB)

EDIT: added both Find and Portal examples Filter On Idle FIND.fmp12 (544 KB)

7 Likes

You could use a dashboard table for a join but I dont believe that it would be faster.

+1 to @jwilling 's approach of only performing the find after the user has paused their typing for a fraction of a second. I'd suggest first adapting your current setup to try this before moving towards a filtered portal. I've found such a configuration (i.e. Card Window, Found Set Portal + Debounce + Perform Find) to be a good one.