Virtual Pickers (without Selector-Connector)

Hello,

I have been an in-house developer for a long time and have used the selector-connector model exclusively there. I have one virtual table for pickers that I can use everywhere to select a person, a room, a device,... It is quite interesting regarding modularity.

Now I have a new client and want do deviate from selector-connector. What is the best approach regarding pickers? Card windows are nice, but what to do if I am already in a card window and have to use a picker there (and do not want to lose state)?

Is it best to stick to a virtual table and have it hanging off every table for which I need a picker in a card window?

Regards,

Matteo Krings

1 Like

Welcome to The Soup @Matteo. I hope it becomes a good resource for your FileMaker needs.

Dialogue box windows are a good fit here. You can invoke many at the same time and the top-most dialogue box window blocks access to all other windows.

There is a caveat. This would be a poor choice if you want your users to access windows of other files while the dialogue box window is displayed.

I access the source table from which I need to pick. I use inbound JSON to alter the behaviour of my pickers during runtime, callbacks to handle pick logic and window variables to save state when script execution stops.

Hope this helps.

Thanks!

However, as I use Webdirect a lot this is not an option right?

I use a table which is devoted to storing state for the application. Every field is a global so that it is accessible across all contexts. Like @bdbd I use JSON because it provides so much flexibility. The script that calls the picker receives the JSON and stores it.

The pickers gets to use the JSON and add to it if needed. Importantly, the pickers never need to know who is calling them. They just do their thing and update the JSON if needed.