The challenge to choose which additional technology to learn

I am new in JavaScript and would like some hints how to get started. If the examples would be textfiles I could better try them out.
Louis

1 Like

I would start, here: JavaScript Tutorial

Since JavaScript is an independent technology, it's best to learn it that way and then apply it to FileMaker or to whatever rather than trying to learn it from a FileMaker (or other) perspective first.

2 Likes

No, but starting in Java 9, there is "JShell" which gives you an interactive Java Shell right in a terminal window independent of any other program you might have open.

Java Shell (jshell) Tutorial

Thanks,

Well, I wonder, if I do really want to learn a new programming language. In 1984 it was Assembler, Modula, later HyperCard (well kind of programming), «programming» websites using Golive, tried AppleScript and since over 30 years scripting in FileMaker. Javascript … Thanks for the link! Louis

I don't even think they teach assembler any more. When I took it, it was 8080 real-mode assembler. I loved the class, but I had a really good instructor. Real mode is a thing of the past. I also miss debugging using MASM debugger. Learned so much in that class. By the time I took compilers, it was all C++.

Your best language bets are languages like Python (super easy to learn, relatively), JavaScript, Java, and maybe C# if you plan to do MS development. The community colleges seem stuck on Java, but I think that will change as Python becomes even more popular. Some CS departments in universities are now only teaching Python. Plus, Python is awesome for Machine Learning.

For system stuff, it's C, which is now the #1 language again.

You can download IDEs for any of these tools from JetBrains and you get a 30-day evaluation. I love JB since even after your subscription ends, your product still works!

Enjoy!

1 Like

Just curious where you see this at. I know a lot depends on what metric is being measured.