About NautilusFM

Several years ago, I had a wild and crazy idea; not my first and certainly not my last, but I found myself wondering if it would be possible to create a FileMaker™ solution where everything happened on one screen; the underlying thought behind that being “If you never leave home, how can you ever get lost!” I started playing around with the idea, found many obstacles that had to be overcome and eventually refined it to a point where it became the basis of every project I developed and I’ve now developed a dozen or so using it. Having refined it to that point, I wanted to have other developers use it and the only way that I could think of for that to happen was to release it under an Open Source (BSD) license which I did on January 3, 2020, putting together an example file (which is free to download) and a 200 page ebook as a step by step guide available on the iBooks store and, of course, a web site (www.nautilusfm.com). So far NautilusFM has been downloaded in 38 different countries.

But what makes NautilusFM different, other than it is a single screen solution?

It uses sliding panels for the different modules
The user is always in context which means they can navigate’ to a different module, do whatever they want in that module and then return to exactly the same place and record that they were in
Users can find a specific record almost instantly and see all of the related data for that record
New records can be added ‘on the fly’ without having to leave the current slide panel
Reports are opened in Card Windows
The relationship graph is very simple to work with

It is very easily scalable and adaptable
It uses a custom theme which means that it can be re-skinned in a matter of minutes
Traditional List Views are available and can be used for complex searches
List Views are opened as a Card Window which sits on top of the main screen and at exactly the same size; thus the user is not aware that a card window has been opened.