Generative AI Application Retrofit (S1:E1)

Generative AI Application Retrofit
Movie for S1:E1 in LinkedIn

Welcome to my series of posts chronicling my journey with the ChatGPT API. As a Product Manager, I'm excited to share real-world applications of Generative AI. To that end , I will be using an application I wrote in FileMaker which employs a scripting language, and packages up my API calls in JSON. At the end is also a movie I made on this topic, showing everything in this post, in action. So, without further ado, I’ll get started.

I find ChatGPT to be a bit like magic, and also a bit sloppy in terms of the response from the API, despite efforts to force it into a more controlled output to make it easier to use. My application, The Writer’s Scribe (TWS), takes stories or articles, and creates a submission to one or more publishers to track the status of your submissions. While the premise is simple, complexity arises in managing rules around multiple and simultaneous submissions, publisher availability, genre preferences, and submission timelines.

To retrofit generative AI to my TWS application, I first looked at the types of problems that would benefit the most from using ChatGPT, and that were easy to do. I already had a function to summarize the source text for an article, and I already had a synopsis field. Many publishers require a synopsis to be included in the cover letter for a submission, so TWS has a template that generates a query letter that includes the synopsis. My goal was to have ChatGPT create a summary that could be used as the synopsis.

The ChatGPT API call works well when I assign a limit of 100 words to the summary and use it on articles under roughly 2K words. Since I have a number of short stories, this call works well for this purpose. Below is a screenshot where I initiate the summary, and where the summary is displayed in the synopsis field.

Analyze Source for Synopsis