FMP Protocol (fmp://)

Hi everyone, I just signed up and I'm new to this community. I've been using FileMaker for a while, but I'm not an expert. I hope I posted my question in the right section of the forum.

I ask if anyone has a solution for a problem that I can't solve related to the fmp:// protocol. I'm using FileMaker Pro Advanced 16 and I would like to open a LOCAL Filemaker file (fmp.12) from a link on a web page using the "fmp://" protocol - I specify that the application will always remain locally.

By setting for example fmp://~/Activity.fmp12 ("~" points to the "Documents" folder by default) the connection works: the file (placed on "Documents") opens immediately without problems. But I need to define a different path that points to a position different from "Documents", e.g. "Desktop" (in particular the file would be on an external HDD, on macOS).

Maybe it might sound strange to open to FileMaker files via the browser locally, but there are two different applications already developed in two different ways. Eventually I ask if it is possible to use AppleScript or other solution. I hope someone can help me understand more.

I hope I have correctly asked my question and thanks in advance to all those who want to help me.

1 Like

Hello @wonderer.

Welcome!

Have you tried this idea?:

• Create an "launcher" file, for example: Launch.fmp12

• Give Launch.fmp12 a script which is capable of opening the target files that live locally on the machine.

• Leave Launch.fmp12 in the Documents directory.

• From the web page, use the FMP protocol to open Launch.fmp12

• When opening Launch.fmp12 via URL, specifically tell it to run the script you added, and also supply a parameter which specifies the target file that you would like to have open.

• The script in Launch.fmp12 then reads the supplied parameter, and opens appropriate file.

• Launch.fmp12 could then close itself, so that only the target file remains open.

Additional Comments: