Why this sample does not work in Chrome?

WDCopyToClipboard.fmp12 (208 KB)

Hi, I am not sure is that ok to share the sample file here. If not, I will delete it. I have taken it from the official community.
This sample file is used to copy text from fields to the clipboard in web direct. But I have tested it in safari and chrome, it only works in safari.

Does anyone know the reason why it does not work in chrome?

You’re generated code contains a ‘#’-character, this breaks the iframe in WebD. You can either URLEncode the code or just replace the ‘#’ with ‘%23’, have a look at the attached sample.

best
OtmarWDCopyToClipboardChromeFirefox.fmp12.zip (73.2 KB)

1 Like

Thank you. It seems that it does not work in Edge and IE?

Yes, no data/text iframes in Edge and IE, you’d have to export the html-code to FMS webroot and link it from there.

1 Like

Thank you. I am new to web-direct, which folder should I export to? :sweat_smile:

If you’re on windows, put it here:
C:\Program Files\FileMaker\FileMaker Server\HTTPServer\conf\yourbutton.html
on macOS:
/Library/FileMaker Server/HTTPServer/htdocs/httpsRoot/yourbutton.html

and the webviewer point to: https://your.webd.url/yourbutton.html (without /fmi/webd…)

2 Likes

Thank you. I will try later.

Hi, I have exported it to html file and I could see it on layout, but how do I run javascript and return the field value back to the clipboard?

You’d have to recreate the html file on every field change or record switch. With the new file script steps of FM(S)18 or BE plugin you can do this with PSOS. To be able to write to the web root folder of FMS, it has to be sym-linked into the DATA/Documents folder.
Attached file has a script that generates the needed command to be executed on the server machine.

best
OtmarWDCopyToClipboardAllBrowser.fmp12.zip (78.0 KB)

3 Likes

Hello @Otmar

It is really great to have your presence here in this forum!

Regarding this particular topic: